About Us

Who We Are

The Nebraska Rheumatology Society strives to promote the common interest of those engaged in the practice of rheumatology. Established in 2017, the objective of the NRS is to encourage the advancement of rheumatology practice in Nebraska. We will promote high ethical standards, excellence in patient care, and advocate for our patients’ well-being. We will mentor young rheumatologists, promote the field of rheumatology to those in training, facilitate continuing medical education, and participate in activities to further the welfare of the patients we serve, the medical profession, and our communities. The NRS also works with national and state organizations to advocate in matters important to our patients and to our specialty.

Our Story

The NRS was launched in 2017 after a bill was introduced at the state level that would legislate biosimilars. Realizing that a forum within the state was needed in order to disseminate critical information about proposed legislation, doctors Marcus Snow, Jennifer Elliott, Joe Nahas, and Kathryn Wildy worked together to form the Nebraska Rheumatology Society. With the formation of the NRS, rheumatologists were able to create a way for rheumatologists to easily access legislative information and ensure that rheumatology patients and physicians’ voices are heard.

Establishing the NRS was important to Nebraska as there is a lack of access to rheumatologic care in the state. There is a shortage of rheumatologists and, though this is a nation-wide issue, the society works towards finding solutions to improve patient care in rural areas. This is especially important as it is projected that by 2035, the state’s 60 and older population will increase by 36%. The NRS is actively working to create a pipeline from students to subspecialists by highlighting rheumatology as a career path before medical students narrow their focus to other specialties.


Marcus Snow, MD


Rick Chatwell, MD

Vice President

Adam Reinhardt, MD


Mukund Kumar, MD


Austin Wheeler, MD

Trainee Representative: UNMC

Robert McMahon, MD

Trainee Representative: Creighton


APP or Research Representative